New section! The Ph.D Pages

Standard

While I work on my next post, I thought it might be a good idea to throw in something a little different to the blog…

For those of you who know me outside of the electronic realm, I’m starting my Ph.D in linguistics in the coming weeks. I’ll be working with the Bristol Centre for Linguistics, based at the University of the West of England.

Long story short: I was lucky enough to be successful in my application for a scholarship to the Centre. This was thanks to an enormous amount of support from family and friends, but also my very first tutor (and soon to be supervisor!) in linguistics, Jeanette Sakel (who’s blog is over here, and it’s wonderful!). I will be focussing on British Sign Language and Sign Linguistics, alongside a myriad of other aspects that I’m sure I’ll have to research if I want to follow my aspirations of becoming a lecturer!

You’ll see some new posts that are related to linguistics, but with more of a focus on the Ph.D process. I may use it to disseminate an interesting result, ask for opinions, or maybe just to vent. Either way, I will continue to write posts about other linguistic shenanigans whenever I can find a few minutes spare.

Guy-Laramee-Book-Carvings-2

A useful visually analogy of a Ph.D?

Leave a Reply

